Will COunty Emergency Management Agency

302 N. Chicago St. JOliet, IL 60432

815-740-8351

24/7 Emergency Number 815-740-0911

Citizens Corps & CERT

Following the tragic events that occurred on September 11, 2001, state and local government officials have increased opportunities for citizens to become an integral part of protecting the homeland and supporting the local first responders.  Officials agree that the formula for ensuring a more secure and safer homeland consists of preparedness, training, and citizen involvement in supporting first responders.  In January 2002, President George W. Bush launched USA Freedom Corps, to capture the spirit of service that has emerged throughout our communities following the terrorist attacks.

 

Citizen Corps, a vital component of USA Freedom Corps, was created to help coordinate volunteer activities that will make our communities safer, stronger, and better prepared to respond to any emergency situation.  It provides opportunities for people to participate in a range of measures to make their families, their homes, and their communities safer from the threats of crime, terrorism, and disasters of all kinds.

 

Citizen Corps programs build on the successful efforts that are in place in many communities around the country to prevent crime and respond to emergencies.  Programs that started through local innovation are the foundation for Citizen Corps and this national approach to citizen participation in community safety.

 

Citizen Corps is coordinated nationally by the Department of Homeland Security (DHS).  In this capacity, DHS works closely with other federal entities, state and local governments, first responders and emergency managers, the volunteer community, and the White House Office of the USA Freedom Corps.

About Citizen Corps

Will County formed a Citizen Corps in early 2004 and is a division of its Emergency Management Agency.  The goals of the Will County Citizen Corps echo that of the Emergency Management Agency. 

 

Particular emphasize is being placed on to promote and strengthen the Citizen Corps programs at the community level, such as CERT teams.  Additionally, we will provide training opportunities for individuals interested in the CERT program; and, develop targeted outreach for the community, including special needs groups.

Will County Citizen Corps

Aurora CERT

Joseph Jones
1200 E. Indiana Trail Rd

630-256-5800

jjones@aurora-il.org

Beecher CERT

Denis Tatgenhorst

625 Dixie Highway

708-946-2261

dtatgenhorst@beecherpolice.org

Channahon CERT

Shane Casey
24555 S. Navajo Drive
815-467-5152
scasey@channahon.org

Crete CERT

Marty Braccio

524 W. Exchange St.

708-672-1437

mbraccio@villageofcrete.org

 

If you would like to participate in a CERT class and do not see one listed near you, please contact our office to make arrangements.

 

Plainfield CERT

Mike Procaccio

14330 S. Coil Plus Drive

mprocaccio@plainfieldema.org

 

Romeoville CERT
Mike Littrell
1050 West Romeo Road
815-886-4095

mlittrell@romeoville.org

 

Shorewood CERT

Aaron Klima

One Town Center

815-725-1460

aklima@vil.shorewood.il.us

Monee CERT
Dave "DJ" Kruzel
5130 W. Court St.

708-534-8301

dkruzel@villageofmonee.org

Minooka CERT

Ken Briley
121 E. McEvilly Road
815-461-2298

ken.briley@minooka.com

 

Naperville CERT

Ed Danley

1380 Aurora Ave.

630-420-6009

Edward.Danley@napercert.org

 

New Lenox CERT

Daniel Martin
200 Veterans Parkway

815-462-6100

dmartin@newlenox.net